Skip to content

And So It Begins

July 1, 2012

Or resumes, or continues, depends on how you look at it.

Training, that is.

Today was my first long run of marathon training for the Maui Marathon on September 16th. I adapted an intermediate training plan from Hal Higdon and started the plan on the 5th week, giving me 12 weeks of solid marathon training. I had been training continuously since February for 3 different half marathons, so coming in at week 5 was no problem and I was right on course for today’s run of 14 miles.

I won’t bore you with a play by play or mile splits, but my average pace was 8:54 and I covered the 14 miles in 1 hour and 5 minutes. It was a glorious run and I felt great throughout it. I ran the first 7.5 miles in an out and back from my house and to the east. I stopped back at home for some water, a clementine, and a bathroom break. This is the first time I have ever stopped at home during a run, in my last house I usually ran really big loops around town and it was not convenient at all to stop at home, and I really enjoyed it. I was able to refuel and rehydrate without carrying the bulk of those goods with me on my run. It also broke up the run nicely, as I felt like I was starting a totally new run after setting out again. I was kind of afraid that coming home would make me want to stay there, but I was more than happy to get back out the door for the second half, where I made a loop to the west of my house and back.

Looking back on the fact that I have been continuously training for pretty much a year now (when I started to train for my first half marathon ever) makes me feel a little like a crazy person. You can’t help it when people give you that look when you tell them that you have to go to bed early on Saturday so you can get up at 5 a.m. and run 15+ miles. But something inside me keeps wanting to sign up for races. The two weeks before I began this marathon training cycle I wasn’t “training”, I was still running, but just for running’s sake. It was a nice mental break, but I really do love training for a race. There is something meaningful and motivating about working towards a goal, having a reason to get out there and run, an end that your hard work goes towards. Of course the journey is just as important, if not more than the destination, but without that destination in sight, you may never make your journey. Running makes me happy, training makes me driven, it doesn’t get much better than that. Run on, run happy.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

