Skip to content

A Step Forward a Step Back

November 5, 2011

According to my training plan, I was supposed to run 19 miles this weekend. But, after a whole week off from running I felt that I needed to step back my ambitions and go for something in the lower teens. I was just not feeling ready to run 19 miles, but I think next weekend I will be there, so I essentially swapped weeks in my training plan. No big deal.

It was a cool, overcast, and intermittently rainy morning, which made for a comfortable run. One downfall was that my iPod shuffle died after 3.5 miles! I swear that thing has issues, I charged it for such a long time last night. I should probably bring it into apple or just get a new one. This was my longest run without music and it wasn’t that bad, but I definitely missed it. I feel like I run faster with some musical motivation.

14 miles in 2:04, can’t complain. I felt a bit slower than usual, but I think after this past week and upcoming week I will get my fitness back to where it was before taking a break. I’d like to see my average min./mile to be under 9.

This morning’s post-run smoothie was a special one! It was my first use of the giant shipment of pumpkin I received yesterday.

Blended to perfection:

  • 1/2 cup frozen pumpkin puree
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1/2 tablespoon chia seeds
  • 1/3 cup yogurt
  • 1/2 cup soymilk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon maca
  • A big shake of cinnamon

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Today I am thankful for upcoming life changes. Within the next month several things will change for me in different facets of my life, and I welcome this changes with open arms and am thankful that they are coming soon.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

