Skip to content

Pump Me Up

November 4, 2011

Today I am so thankful for my mom.

Because she birthed and raised me? No.

Well yes, of course. But more importantly I am thankful for my mother for sending me 15 pounds of pumpkin for my birthday!!! Best. Present. Ever! Thank you mom!

I was home this afternoon, minding my own business, when there was a knock at the door. It was the mailman with a package from Amazon. I hadn’t ordered any books and Tim loves shopping online, so I assumed it was his package. I let him sign for it, all sad and dejected, then the heavens opened up and I saw MY name on the package. IT WAS A PACKAGE FOR ME! Did I mention how much I love mail? It was super heavy. I was scanning my memory, had I ordered books? No, I hadn’t.

I threw the heavy package up on the counter and ripped off the tape like a crazy person. I was ecstatic to find that I had received a whole case of pumpkin in the mail. There was no note or signifier of who sent this package of wonder, but I instantly knew- it had to be mom. I knew because several days ago I sent her a text message that said, “I know what you can get me for my birthday, pumpkin.”

Sure sure, we have pumpkin in Hawaii, somewhere, but I don’t want to buy a can of pumpkin for like $10. I’ve been checking out Costco where I would be able to find large quantities of pumpkin for a decent price, but they do not carry canned pumpkin. WTF. So anyways, thank you mom for the amazing birthday present.

Leave a Reply

