Skip to content

Herbaceous Millet Salad

October 30, 2011

This millet salad is full of healthy goodness and wonderful flavor. You can make it as a dinner side or put over a bed of lettuce for lunch salads throughout the week.

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup millet
  • 1/2 yellow onion, diced
  • 3 garlic cloves, diced
  • 1 bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 zucchini, quartered and chopped
  • 1 can of garbanzo beans
  • 1/2 can of black pitted olives, halved
  • A dash of rosemary
  • 10 fresh basil leaves
  • 2 tablespoons balsamic vinaigrette
  • salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  • Cook millet in 1 1/4 cups of water. Bring water to a boil, add millet, and allow to simmer for 20 min.
  • In another pot, saute onion and garlic for 5 min.
  • Add pepper for 2 min.
  • Add zucchini and continue cooking until tender, about 10 min.
  • When millet and veggies are done cooking, allow them to cool for 15 minutes
  • In a large mixing bowl add olives, garbanzos, cooked veggies, and millet
  • Add balsamic, basil, rosemary, salt, and pepper, mix well

This came out really well, I can’t wait for lunch tomorrow!

In other news, I have not run in a week, and it’s killing me! I think my lack of blogging is related to my lack of running- it’s what I like doing and writing about. My foot is feeling better, but it is still in pain. I am crossing my fingers that I can run on it tomorrow, and if I can’t I may need to seek medical attention to find out what the heck is going on. There is no place on my foot that is sensitive to touch, but it begins aching after a couple minutes of walking, I am beginning to doubt that it could be a bruise, but I don’t know.

On a positive note, this past weekend was full of fun Halloween activities. Tim and I went to Chinatown for Honolulu’s annual Hallowballo block party- 6 stages of live music, thousands of creative costumes, food, and beer. We had a blast checking out all of the costumes and catching some great music, namely a fun funk band called The New Mastersounds and motivating d.j., Gaudi.

We also had a nice dinner with Tim’s grandma and she gave Griffan the cutest Halloween “outfit”. It is a black necklace with orange dog bones. I’ve been making him wear this non-stop since Friday night, doesn’t he look so cute?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

