Skip to content

Surprises

October 23, 2011

Another Sunday, another milestone. Every time I run a new distance I surprise myself. I know that I can do it, it’s just that when I am actually running the mileage I think to myself, “Woah, I’m gonna make it.” It is also crazy that I tell myself things like, “9 miles, halfway” or “only 5 miles left, no big deal,” when 5 and 9 miles at one point was a big deal on their own, much less as part of 18 miles. I guess I am just greatful and appreciative of my body and its amazing capabilities

I now have 18 miles under my belt, 20 is right around the corner, and 26.2 does not seem too far off anymore. Honolulu Marathon, here I come! I still have 7 glorious weeks of training, and I am feeling confident about my progress.

Today’s run was great. The first 10 miles breezed by and before I knew it I was more than halfway done. I kept chugging along, eating a Gu at mile 8 and 14, but I lost a lot of energy after the 16th mile. I felt pretty drained, but somehow ran the last two miles at 8:45 min/mile, fatigue and all. It took some positive self-talk and motivation to power through the end, but I made it in one piece.

Once at home, I chugged water like a camel and chopped up some watermelon as fast as I could –> the most amazing re-hydration ever! Next I stretched out my tired legs.

Then I made the necessary recovery smoothie: papaya, banana, strawberries, blueberries, kale, yogurt, soymilk, chia seeds, cinnamon, maca, and stevia.

I got the November edition of Runner’s World yesterday. I feel like a kid on Christmas when this comes in the mail, seriously, I love it! Reading this just may trump getting any other work done 🙂

I have no idea where the day is going to take me, but after such an accomplished morning, I don’t really care!

Have a wonderful Sunday!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2011 11:48 am

    Congratulations! Looks like a great run!!

  2. mz schultz permalink
    October 25, 2011 1:06 pm

    my sister in law & I used to run, and we used to get through the tougher parts by saying “hey, just 5 more driveways…”, hey just past two more lamp posts…” “hey, just need to get by that big-RV parked in that guy’s yard..”

    I guess I should add that our ‘track’ was the streets of Lindenhurst, IL – with all the not-so-breathtaking views of house and house and house and house and….

    hey, whatever works, right?!

    love ya stef keep it up!
    mz schultz

    ps: great pic!

    • October 26, 2011 9:28 am

      Thanks Mz Schultz! I am really lucky to have Hawaii as my running backdrop 🙂

Leave a Reply

