Skip to content

Pumpkin With An Island Twist

October 12, 2011

Tim cooked up a kabocha squash last night, and all I could think about today was coming home and making a pumpkin smoothie! The school day ends early, at 1:30 on Wednesdays, to allow time for a weekly faculty meeting. There was no meeting today, so I was thrilled to come home early, nap, and….. make a pumpkin smoothie!

As I was pulling the ingredients out of the fridge and freezer I remembered that we had a cooked ulu, or breadfruit. These fruits were brought over to Hawaii by the Polynesian settlers and was an important starch for the native Hawaiians. They are large fruits that grow in trees and look somewhat like dinosaur eggs. Did I mention that they are super delicious as well? They are sweet and starchy like a sweet potato, but a little different. Pictured is the inside of the bread fruit. You wrap it in foil and bake it in the oven for almost two hours, long but worth it.

I knew the flavors would go well with the pumpkin, so I decided to add some ulu to the smoothie, hence the pumpkin with an island twist.

Pumpkin Breadfruit Smoothie

Ingredients

  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin
  • 1/4 cup bread fruit
  • 1/4 cup yogurt
  • 1/2 cup soy milk
  • 1 tablespoon chia seeds
  • 1 packet stevia
  • 1 teaspoon maca powder
  • 2 dashes of cinnamon

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This smoothie was amazing! It was so thick I had to eat it with a spoon, and loved every bite. I am already dreaming of the next time I will get to eat it.

The pumpkin breadfruit smoothie was also great fuel for my run. I ran 8.5 miles out and around Diamond Head with an average pace of 8:36 min/mile. It was a nice run, no complaints except my hamstrings felt pretty tight the entire time, no matter how many times I stretched them out. Tomorrow is a day off running, so that should do my legs some good.

I can’t believe tomorrow is already Thursday, gotta love short weeks!

Have a good night/day!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. October 12, 2011 9:53 pm

    This looks amazing. I’m not sure how to get bread fruit in the Uk though, but I loved the picture, it looks so bizarre! Well done on the run too.

    • October 13, 2011 6:39 am

      That was my worry in posting about the breadfruit, that some of the readers may not be able to access it. But if you are ever in the Pacific look for breadfruit and you will be pleasantly surprised at the taste and texture!

Trackbacks

  1. Good Gourd « Living HI

Leave a Reply

