Skip to content

Back to Work

October 11, 2011

The proverbial sun has set on my vacation, it’s back to school today.

I drove my mom to the airport bright and early this morning, it’s still not even light out yet. It is always so hard to say goodbye to my parents. My mom said, “I wish this would get easier, but it just doesn’t,” so true. My parents live near Chicago and we have been doing long distance visits and goodbyes biannually for 5+ years now. I like to think that I care for them deeper being so far away, if they lived in the next town over and I could see them anytime I want, I may not appreciate them as much.

On a positive note, I am seriously caffed up right now. I drank my daily Morning Thunder on the way to the airport and am now on a cup of coffee, weeee! My students better watch out!

While vacation was little work and much play, I am looking forward to getting back into my healthy routines. We ate out at restaurants waaaay more than I usually do, and I found myself eating larger portions of less healthy food. I am back on track today with oatmeal for breakfast and a salad with cottage cheese packed for lunch. For me the key to healthy eating is to make your own food, and when you leave the house by 5 a.m. and won’t return until 4 p.m., that takes some planning ahead (and lots of tupperware). Tim made extra oatmeal yesterday, so I’ve got that mixed with some yogurt and pineapple for breakfast, banana for a snack, and yesterday I made my salad: red and green leaf lettuce, kale, tomatoes, carrots, bell pepper, and boiled sweet potatoes, cottage cheese on the side.

I never skipped a run or workout during my vacation, so that is a win! I’ll be running 5 miles this evening, and I am hoping my fatigue from an early wake up doesn’t detract from my speed.

What do you look forward to at the end of a vacation?

Have a good first day of the week, it’s a short one and I’m sure it’s going to fly by!

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 12, 2011 3:19 am

    My own bed… & I suppose the routine of regular (healthy) meals… although eating out is SO much fun!

Leave a Reply

