Skip to content

Half Mary

October 9, 2011
tags:

Congratulations to all of the Chicago Marathon runners!

I grew up in Chicagoland and have a few friends that ran the race, I have to admit, I was pretty jealous/excited for them.

Today I ran my own half-marathon, 13 miles for my long run of the week.

The whole run felt pretty darn good. I have to say that I am very confidant in my half-marathon abilities, I really enjoy the distance and feel comfortable with it.

  • Mile 1 –> 9:24
  • Mile 2 –> 8:37
  • Mile 3 –> 8:52
  • Mile 4 –> 8:44
  • Mile 5 –> 8:56
  • Mile 6 –> 8:33
  • Mile 7 –> 8:37
  • Mile 8 –> 8:48
  • Mile 9 –> 8:38
  • Mile 10 -> 8:50
  • Mile 11 -> 8:49
  • Mile 12 -> 8:40
  • Mile 13 -> 8:28

After this week my long runs really amp up, next Sunday I am running 17 miles. I have been getting by stuffing gu down my bra or raisins in my shorts band, but that has been really uncomfortable, so I made a trip to Sport’s Authority today, here are the goods.

I got a really nice fuel belt by Nathan and a hat by Adidas. I’ve been wearing a really old, sun bleached Corona hat, wich works, but I’ve been meaning to get a running hat with more ventilation. Here’s an old had/new hat comparison.

Stylish? I don’t know, I like running in hats for their utility, but I tend to think I look strange in all varieties of head cover.

These pictures are one week apart, can you see the difference in my tan? Thanks mom and Sara for getting me out to the beach so much in the past week!

For dinner we picked up Whole Foods pizzas. On Sundays their take-and-bake are 2 for the price of 1, so we got two large spinach and garlic pizzas for $12.99. Not only is it a great deal, but it is convenient, and delicious. Dinner will be comprised of beer and pizza- must soak in the last remaining hours of vacation!

How was your Sunday? Relaxing? Taxing? Fruitful?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

