Skip to content

Days Like These

October 5, 2011
tags: ,

I am seriously enjoying my week off from teaching. Actually, I am enjoying it a little too much, I may never go back 😉

Today was an all-around perfect day. I woke up at 7:30, a whopping two hours after I typically have to wake up, and I felt so well rested. I didn’t have to rush anywhere or do anything, so I had time to work out in the morning. Today is a cross training day, so I did some high intensity intervals a la bodyrock.tv. After, I leisurely drank some tea and made oatmeal.

Then my mom, sister, and I headed out for the beach.


It was a beautiful breezy day at Sherwood’s beach. I really like this beach for a number of reasons; the fine sand, the offshore islands to gaze at, and the plentiful shade. After we posted up, Griff and I went for a long walk along the empty shoreline. Beaches (and most other places on Oahu) seriously rock on the weekdays (and are overly crowded on the weekends)! The drive was smooth, the beach was empty, and that made me so much more relaxed.

After our walk, Griff and I dug a hole for him to lay in. I think he likes the cooler sand that is beneath the surface.

He found a stick that he really liked to chew on, what a weirdo. I love how he looks super ferocious in this picture.

Then we settled down to read a book, The Moor’s Last Sigh by Salman Rushdie (which I recommend).

The awesomenss doesn’t stop there, oh no. On the way home we stopped for happy hour at Kona Brewing Co. where I had a lemongrass lager and Sara had a citrusy pilsner- the perfect refreshment after a long day at the beach 🙂

I am having such a good stay-cation; going to the beach on a weekday, drinking beer at 4 in the afternoon, reading for pleasure, and taking naps- life doesn’t get much better!

What are your favorite things to do on vacation?

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 7, 2011 4:22 am

    Beautiful photos!

Leave a Reply

