Skip to content

At the End of a Rainbow

October 4, 2011

I awoke this morning to darkness, and the sound of rain.

“Nooooo,” I thought to myself, “I want to go running!” I also thought, “At least the plants are getting the rain they need.”

I willed the rain away, “You will be done raining by 6 a.m.”

I went back to sleep with hopes of running in the near future. My alarm went off at 6 and I heard faint sounds of dripping. These sounds indicated that the rain had stopped, and the forest foliage was still shaking it off.

I got up, drank some coffee, and at half a banana. Then the rain came, pouring out of the back of the valley. I cursed to myself, opened my book, and waited. Around 6:30 the rain stopped, the clouds lifted up, not completely, but they looked much less threatening. Quickly, I threw on my shoes and was out the door. I saw my wonderful 90 year-old neighbor out, getting the paper. “Heading out for a run?” she asked me. “Yes, I have high hopes that the rain has stopped,” I replied. “Good luck, it might be a wet one,” she advised. “I don’t mind, I just want to get out there,” I stated. We smiled at each other and she waved me off, saying, “Good for you.”

The first 3 miles were cloudy, but no rain came down. It was a wonderfully cool, cloudy morning. Tuesdays, after a day of rest from my long runs, I always set out to do a little speed work, so I threw in some intermittent sprints. All was going swell. I thought I was in the clear.

Then, after 3 miles, a downpour overcame me. I hid under a tree, waiting for the shower to pass. The saying goes in Hawaii, “If you don’t like the weather, wait 10 minutes.” I only had to wait a couple and the rain lightened up, I was off again.

Coming into the last half mile the clouds started to drop again. Again I found myself in the midst of a downpour. Thanks to the protection of another tree, I was able to avoid most of the downpour, and book it home.

As I toweled off and stretched out the sky cleared up a bit and made way for a rainbow.

At the end of each run there is a rainbow!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2011 6:20 am

    I spent 3 wks on Kauai & didn’t see ONE rainbow. WTF?

  2. October 7, 2011 7:26 am

    Did it rain much while you were there? If it’s the dry, summer season without rain, then you won’t get the bows.

Leave a Reply

