Skip to content

Lunch Club

September 27, 2011

This lovely bloom popped up to say hello this morning. The ubiquitous hibiscus.

So far this week’s lunches have been really great, thanks to lunch club. The teachers in the upper elementary grades like to do lunch clubs, where everyone brings one or two ingredients, they are pooled together, and everyone eats. They have done sandwich club, pasta club, chips and dip club, etc. My favorite club, and really the only one I participate in, is salad club! I suggested last week that we do a salad club and everyone jumped on the band wagon.

I brought wheat berries and carrots, others brought tomatoes, broccoli, lettuce, spinach, mixed greens, tofu, pine nuts, havarti and cheddar cheese, pickles, blueberries, and dressing. I love sandwich club because when do you have THAT many ingredients in your own fridge? I never do. The wheat berries were a hit. And I loved my salad with all of those ingredients in one bowl!

I went for a 5 mile run today with an average of 8:20 minutes/mile. I added some sprints into my run and got a good workout. I also took a spill, for no apparent reason. It wasn’t even when I was running really fast and there was nothing wrong with the sidewalk, of course I turned around to check. Good thing I have a tuck and roll method down pat and escaped that catastrophe with only a small cut on my forearm and no other damage at all. Most importantly, I could keep running!

Cheers to Hump Day. This week is busy (as usual) but I have some visitors coming at the end of the week and next week is Fall Break= NO SCHOOL šŸ™‚ !

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

