Skip to content

The Day of the Pumpkin

September 24, 2011

Yesterday, September 23rd, marked the first day of fall. And since I am apparently trying to fake it to make it fall, here in Hawaii, I had to celebrate appropriately. With lots and lots of pumpkin.

Really this was all a coincidence, but some people say there are no coincidences.

The day began with pumpkin oats on the go.

In the mix were oats, soy milk, cinnamon, pumpkin, yogurt, and chia seeds.

During lunch, one of the other teachers busted out a homemade pumpkin pie. Of course I couldn’t turn this down, and had a small slice. It was quite possibly the best pumpkin pie I’ve ever had, creamy and well spiced.

I ran 5.5 miles last night. I set out to “take it easy” and go around a 8:45 min/mile, but whenever I looked down  at my watch I was closer to 8:15 min/mile. Oh well, maybe my concept of “easy” is changing as I get faster?

After running and a walk with Griffan I sat down to a dinner of leftovers, an exact replica of last night’s dinner.

It was just as good the second time around. So I had pumpkin for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. You may think the squash fest stopped here, but oh no, it didn’t.

It was a friend’s birthday last night, so to celebrate the event and the new season I brought over some Blue Moon Pumpkin Ale, which rounded out the plenitude of pumpkin for the day.

Drinking this beer for the second time, I am still disappointed. This was part of the same six pack I bought last week, beer has to be pretty lame to last a whole week in someone’s fridge! But alas, due to the tropical climate and distance from an actual fall season, I think beer suppliers have, as of yet, forgotten to import some decent pumpkin ales. But not to be discouraged, the search will continue!

Have a wonderful Saturday!

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 24, 2011 2:11 pm

    Great post! It combines two of my favorite things, running and food.

Leave a Reply

