Skip to content

Something Fishy

September 16, 2011
tags:

I did something totally out of the ordinary yesterday, I went swimming, for exercise. I’ve always admired people that could swim repetitive laps in a pool without the motivation of music, but I never thought that would be me.

In the spirit of my “rest week” or week or my week of pursuing alternative exercise, I decided I’d give it a try. I happen to be lucky enough to have access to a free pool in my very own neighborhood. You see the blue rectangle across the field and to the left of the large green and beige building? That is the pool, viewed from the lanai of my house.

I put on my bathing suit, grabbed goggles and a towel, and walked over. My goal was to swim for 30 minutes. I thought I’d run out after 30 minutes, dying of boredom.

It was super easy to get into the pool, I didn’t have to check in, or pay anything. I just walked in, put my stuff in a cubby hole outside, rinsed in the shower, and hopped in. The pool was not crowded at all! The course was 25 yards (the width of the pool), and I had plenty of space all to myself. They don’t rope off the whole pool, but instead ask that people swim along blue lines painted at the bottom of the pool. The swimmers there were was respectful of everyone’s space.

I was suddenly greatful for the swimming lessons I had as a child (thanks Mom!!!) because I was able to get in and start the freestyle smoothly and quickly. I would swim 150 yards freestyle, then do 50 yards breaststroke. It was cloudy before I left, when I took the picture, but the clouds blew away and it got sunny. It was so beautifiul to be swimming under the sun with the mountains surrounding me. I’ve never done laps in an indoor pool, but I’d bet money that it is less enjoyable than an outdoor pool.

Swimming was smooth and methodical, and somewhat relaxing. I swam 1500 yards and was in the pool for 45 minutes before I knew it! No boredom, no wishing for it to be over, I fully enjoyed myself while swimming. I am kicking myself in the butt for not utilizing the awesome facilities before.I never thought I’d be a swimmer, but now I think I will incorporate it into my exercise once a week.

One Comment leave one →
  1. enrico neri permalink
    September 16, 2011 2:22 pm

    Arriba! Arriba. Annie and I always go swimming every FSS at the UH pool. It’s great exercise

Leave a Reply

