Skip to content

If You Write It, She Will Run

September 16, 2011

So it is written, so it shall be.

I just got done drafting my marathon training plan. It’s on.

December 11th I will run the Honolulu Marathon. It is 12 weeks from this Sunday, and I am excited.

I am taking a different approach to training than my half-marathon. I realized that 5 running days a week was too much for me. I felt over-trained and exhausted towards the last few weeks leading up to the race. A combination of the demands of running, student-teaching, and grad school coursework made for one tired me. I will take a more realistic approach of 4 running days per week with cross-training like swimming, yoga, walking, and strength training interspersed on non-running days. This way the majority of my runs will not be on back-to-back days, which I think will be good rest and recovery time for my mind and body.

I took Hal Higdon’s marathon novice 2 training schedule, and just shifted the days around so that I run my long run on Sundays, and shorter ones on Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday.

Now if I could just get my entry fee waived….. oh, and a new pair of running shoes.

Oh yeah, I got the results for the Windward Half Marathon. I came in 76th out of 325 with an official time of 1:52:15 and an average pace of 8:34. I am super happy about all of this, and couldn’t have asked for anything more for my first race. I am looking forward to the marathon!

One Comment leave one →
  1. Chris permalink
    September 20, 2011 12:18 pm

    Congrats on your results! What a great time for your first half.

    ps – love the blog, we visited kailua a few years ago and it’s still our favourite place ever. Your pics bring back memories!

Leave a Reply

