Skip to content

Oats A Go Go

September 15, 2011
tags:

With teaching comes momentous responsibility… and EARLY mornings.

I found myself in a dilemma; I wanted to get to school earlier to have more prep time before the students arrive, but I did not want to get up out of bed any earlier. What to do, what to do?

I was spending about 30 minutes every morning cooking oats on the stove top and then eating them while I read blogs. I thought this could be a time frame that I could shave off some home minutes and transfer them to classroom time.

Enter oats on the go. I’ve tried overnight oats, which consist of equal parts of oats, milk, and yogurt, but I don’t like the super thick texture. I decided to add the same amount of soy milk to my oats as I would while cooking it on the stove (minus 1/4 cup of water) and let the oats sit in it over night, nixing the yogurt all together. This made for a smoothier and creamier texture, which was what I had hoped for.

Oats on the go:

1/4 cup oats

1/2 cup soy milk

1/2 tablespoon chia seeds

1 packet stevia

1 big dash of cinnamon

– Put in a jar or a tupperware and in the fridge overnight

– In the morning add…

blueberries

banana

cottage cheese

I microwave the mixture for about 1 minute, just to warm it to room temperature, stick it in my purse, and go. This way I can eat while grading papers or setting up for the day’s lessons and still get a nutritious breakfast.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

