Skip to content

The Windward Half-Marathon

September 11, 2011

Time for the race recap.

It all started at 4 a.m., when the alarm went off.

Coffee and water were downed immediately. Fuel in the form of toast with peanut butter, banana, and agave were consumed.

Then we drove to the other side of the island in the dark and quiet hours of the early morning.

Ha ha, Griff looks like he is nodding off in this picture. I think he was confused to be up before the sun was.

I arrived at the school where the race began and got my time chip to velcro around my ankle. I warmed up in the field adjacent to the school- a little jogging, a little stretching.

I was really really nervous and excited to be getting ready for my first race. I made my way out to the starting point on the road and almost fainted, not really, but I was scared. I was somewhat comforted by the size and atmosphere of the race. There were only about 300-350 participants and everyone was very friendly (read as: not ultra competitive and crazy serious), so I tried to relax a little.

    

Before day break the whistle was sounded and we were off, at a snail’s pace. It took a little bit for the crowd to get moving and we all ran the first 1/2 mile at around a 10 min/mile pace. As people got more spread out I fell into a 9 min/mile for the next 2 miles to warm up.

For miles 3-5 I was going around 8:40 min/mile. The sun rose steadily in the sky and made a beautiful, cool morning to run in. I was soaking in the sunrise and the mountains, feeling so greatful for the opportunity to be running at that time and place.

There were two water stations during the first 5 miles, which wasn’t too much, but there were a lot more in the second half.

After running 6 miles I was feeling really good and going at a steady 8:25 min/mile. I began passing quite a few people as I picked up the pace. I ate a Gu gel at mile 8, and this helped tremendously. By mile 9 I was feeling euphoric, no joke. I had a huge smile on my face. I got some gatorade at a water station, which added to my second wind. I looked down at my watch and was pleasantly surprised to see that I was doing 8:00 min/mile. I held this pace for miles 9-11, then it was under 8 min/mile for the last 2. For the last 3/4 mile stretch I was going a speedy 7:35 min/mile.

I am so happy with how this race went. I enjoyed every moment of it. The volunteers were cheery and helpful. My favorite one was a guy wearing an afro wig, waiving a pom pom, and blowing a conch shell. Or maybe my favorite one was the woman that gave me gatorade.

I came blazing into the finish with a time of 1:52. I totally blew away my conservative goal of running the race in under 2 hours, and realized that I could potentially beat this bar I set for myself. The Windward Half-Marathon showed me how much I love participating in road races, and really has me thinking about the next one…

Look at me in my post-run glow.

They had some yummy local oranges for us after the race,and Tim brought me a coconut juice, which hit the spot.

After the race we headed to Down to Earth for a smoothie which, I have to admit, was pretty lame. I make smoothies that are 100 times better. Now I know never to buy one, just make em at home.

After nourishment we headed to the beach for a dip. I wish I could say it was refreshing, but the salt water just stung all of the sore places that my wet clothes were rubbing during the race. No matter, nothing was going to ruin my ecstatic mood.

Now, I pose a question to you my readers. Should I run the Honolulu Marathon in December???

My fitness and stamina are already built up so much, it makes sense to carry it on to a marathon distance. I had so much fun running the small Windward Half-Marathon that I am curious to participate in a larger race.

I also have a lot going on with grad school and was feeling burnt out coming into the race, although today I was revived. To combat this I’d like to scale back the amount of days I run to 4, is it still feasible to train well in 4 days a week of running + 2-3 of cross training?

Help me by weighing in on this issue, should do I do 26.2???

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2011 9:25 pm

    Congrats on an excellent first 1/2 marathon. I’m so very proud of you! As for the Honolulu Marathon(26.2)Go for it! But take a short break first to relax before you start training again.

  2. Ryan @ Aloha Appetite permalink
    September 12, 2011 9:43 pm

    Awesome job on the half! I recently did one in May with injuries, so mine was not as fun, but definitely a cool experience. You should totally go for the marathon because you obviously have the desire!

  3. September 13, 2011 3:20 am

    Yes, you should! Plus the Kauai marathon next year – maybe we can meet up?! haha

    • September 13, 2011 5:39 pm

      That would be fun! When is the Kauai marathon? I could definitely go for a running related inter-island trip!

Leave a Reply

