Skip to content

Got My Groove Back

September 6, 2011
tags:

This is what I would have liked to do this morning…

While the long weekend was much enjoyed, it almost threw me off more today. I couldn’t figure out what day of the week it was and I missed the garbage man. This left me feeling disoriented and my garbage can over-stuffed.

Oh well, tomorrow is already Wednesday. I can feel myself sliding down that hump already. I don’t mean to be a negative Nancy, but teaching full-time while being in grad school is tough stuff. I have a hunch that my less than stellar runs have been a product of the stress and pressure of the teacher-student combo.

On a positive note, my run today felt great. I set out with no time goal in mind, just run 5.5 miles and try to enjoy it to the fullest. Check and check. I did bring my Garmin, but did not obsess over pace, and came in at an average of 9:00 min/mile. Not a stellar speed, but it felt good to be back in the saddle.

The weather helped a lot, we are still having super clear skies with high visibility. I swear, it is like the islands have upgraded to H.D. The mountains have so many more shades of green and much more defined contours than usual, it is beautiful. The sunset was also something to write home about, the only word that comes to mind is “epic”. I lament the fact that I didn’t have a camera, it was truly amazing, so many pinks and oranges. I enjoyed the views so much (maybe craning my head around to keep my eyes on the sunset contributed to a slower pace?)

Either way, I am in the taper, where my mileage and intensity decreases in preparation for my race on Sunday. I just need to focus on getting in some comfortable miles to keep my legs loose, while not stressing my body out too much.

I hope your week got off to a good start!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

