Skip to content

Running Rut

September 4, 2011

I feel like I am in a bit of a running rut. I’ve lost the gumption to go, my legs feel tired, and I find myself looking forward to the end of my excursions.

It all started on Thursday. Well, let’s start at Wednesday, I went out for 5.5 miles doing sprint intervals. I ran fast, I felt good, I had sustained stamina, and my average pace over the 5.5 was 8:00 min/mile. All in all it was a great jaunt and I ended feeling strong. The next day, Thursday, I set out to do 8 miles and I felt like I never warmed up, never got into the groove, never loosened my legs. I did the whole 8, but it wasn’t pretty and it wasn’t fun.

Friday was my day off from running. I did some high intensity interval moves that I found on bodyrock.tv. Saturday morning I was sore and not feeling great after drinking beer the night before (let me be honest, I had 2 beers and I had a headache, yes I am a weakling, and no I have no idea where my tolerance went). Needless to say, my run Saturday morning was less than inspring.

And today, I tackled 9 miles, definitely not a very long run, should be pretty routine by now. But no, I never settled into the run and my legs felt achy. This is all very worrisome because my 1/2 marathon is in one week! I need some motivation and inspiration stat! Maybe I need a rest day, a real rest day, which I haven’t taken the whole time I’ve been training.

How can I get my running mojo back?

In other news, we are going camping today, yay! It is about a 45 minute hike up a ridge to a perfect little iron wood grove with a fire pit and hammock hooks. I am excited.

Tomorrow morning, should I be awake for sunrise, I will be looking at this.


Have a wonderful Saturday everyone, may your labor day festivities be wonderful.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

