Skip to content

SW Lentil Salad

August 29, 2011
tags:

Every Sunday I ask myself the same question, “What can I make a big batch of, so that I am set for lunch for most of the week?”

This week I decided on a lentil salad. This is the first time I’ve used lentils this way, I usually incorporate them into stews. You’ll want to cook your lentils less than if you were cooking them in a stew to keep a firmer texture.They are a great source of protein and fiber, which is what I look for in a good salad base, so I went for it.

Pictured below is a double batch. If you’d like a similar quantity then double all of the ingredients, if you’d like a smaller amount, then just follow the recipe directions.

Ingredients:

– 1 cup lentils

– 4 cups water

– 4 roma tomatoes, chopped

– 1 green bell pepper, chopped

– 1/2 cup of peas, defrosted

– 1 can of black beans, rinsed and drained

– 1/2 cup of cilantro, chopped

– 1 clove of garlic, diced

For the Dressing:

– 1 lemon, juiced

– 1/2 tablespoon of cumin

– 1 teaspoon of chili powder

– 1 teaspoon of cayenne

– salt and pepper to taste

Directions

1) Bring the water to boil and add the lentils, allow to simmer for 20-25 minutes.

2) Mix the ingredients for the dressing, set aside.

3) In a large bowl, mix all of the ingredients, dressing included.

Easy peasy lemon squeezy.

Hope you all of a good start to the week!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 29, 2011 7:01 am

    looks delish! I have to do the same thing on Sundays! Its hard to find time to cook/prepare lunch in the middle of the work week! I’ll have to try this recipe for next week!

    • August 29, 2011 8:58 am

      Prepping food on Sundays helps to make my week less stressful. it is really hard to find the time mid-week. I’m glad you like the recipe, it’s a tasty one!

  2. Alexis permalink
    September 1, 2011 1:51 pm

    I just found your blog through your guest post on PB runner. I just moved to Oahu in May with my Army husband (though the majority of my husband’s family lives here). Any suggestions of must-try restaurants?? Also, favorite running trails? Mahalo in advance:)

    • September 2, 2011 6:42 am

      Hi Alexis, welcome to Oahu. Here are some must try restaurants in town; Chiang Mai (Thai food), The Olive Tree (Greek), Maharani (Indian), and you’ve gotta try pho at a Vietnamese restaurant, although I don’t have a favorite. As for trail running- I don’t run on trails very often because they all have steep inclines and are really more for hiking, but there are TONS of hiking trails, which is great. I’d suggest picking up the book by Stuart Ball, The Hiker’s Guide to Oahu. I love running around the Diamond Head area and Kapiolani Park, there are really great paths and it is pretty shady. Hope you are liking your new island home!

      • Alexis permalink
        September 3, 2011 10:15 pm

        Thanks for the suggestions! We’re total foodies so we’ve been trying out tons of new places, and I’m definitely adding all of these to our list:) I kept finding all hiking trails in my searches, and was afraid that was all there is. Guess I have to get used to road running! I look forward to reading more of your blog and finding other fun things in Oahu. I’m a nutritionist and already think Hawaii is a health-nut heaven!

Leave a Reply

