Skip to content

Joan’s Mango Chutney

August 22, 2011
 
 
Joan, Tim’s mom, is a foodie at heart, so we always share recipes. (This is a picture of her on her birthday, when we ate at Roy’s). She e-mailed me this recipe for mango chutney and it looks so good that I had to share it!
 
Carl [Joan’s husband] wanted some mango chutney with his curry tonight, so who am I to say no, even though I have no ripe mangoes…. I decided to honor his request by sacrificing some of my sacred frozen-for-smoothies mangoes.  I didn’t have a recipe though, either, so I googled some chutney recipes, and added my own touches, and am very pleased with the results so will share with you:

Joanie’s Mango Chutney
Ingredients:
1/3 cup cider vinegar
2/3 cup white sugar
2 cups of frozen mangoes, chopped while frozen
1/3 sweet Maui onion, chopped rather finely
1/2 cup of craisens (dried cranberries)
2 cloves of garlic, chopped or smashed or both
Fresh grated ginger, about 2 tablespoons

In a small saucepan, mix the sugar (or honey or agave syrup I suppose) in with the vinegar and turn the stove on low.  Then add the craisens then stir and watch til the sugar dissolves.  Then add the other ingredients and slow cook until the chutney is thick, stirring occasionally, about 1 hour.  Done!  
This sounds sooo good, I can’t wait to try it. Thanks Joan!
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

