Skip to content

Milestones

August 21, 2011
tags:

You may be wondering why in the heck I am running so much. I’ve realized that I haven’t told the blog world the reason for my training. I am going to run my first half marathon on September 11th. It will actually be my first race ever. It is the Windward Half Marathon put on by the Boy’s and Girl’s Club of Hawaii.

I’ve been planning on running this race for a while now, but I actually registered just yesterday. This is one of two milestones for me this weekend. Registering for the race makes it more of a reality.

The second milestone for me is a new personal record distance.

I ran my own half marathon today, 13.1 miles in 1:54:45 with an average pace of 8:45 min./mile. I thought it was fitting to sign up for the race and then run the distance in the same weekend.

I ran out of the valley, two laps around Diamond Head, then back up.

I don’t typically like to run repetitive laps, but when you are dealing with 13 miles on an island your options become limited.

There are also many pluses to this route; there are many water fountains spread out at good intervals, bathrooms, ocean to look at, and it is pretty much the runner’s super highway, so you can get some energy and inspiration from the other runners out there.

I tried a new fueling strategy; jelly beans. I’ve read in a few places that jelly beans are a good quick source of energy when running, and I was at the local co-op the other day and noticed a bulk bin of organic jelly beans, so I decided to give it a try.

I think they worked well, they were easy to transport and to eat on the go. I also think they gave me some extra energy, especially toward the last few miles.

Today was definitely a confidence booster, and I feel that I will be ready and well prepared for my race in a few weeks.

How were your runs/workouts today?

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Lindsay permalink
    August 22, 2011 3:46 pm

    Hey steph, I just found your blog and love it. I live in Kailua and am running the windward half as well. Your pace looks pretty similar to mine, so maybe we’ll meet up during the race,

    • August 22, 2011 4:14 pm

      Hey Lindsay, that would be fun! Have you done any races before? Maybe we could meet up to do a training run?

      • Lindsay permalink
        August 23, 2011 12:44 pm

        I would love to meet up for a training run. I just ran a half in portland (maine) last weekend. I was home visiting family/friends. Email me sometime and we could do a run together! (I would love to switch it up from my typical kailua/lanikai routes). My email is Lindsay.Gilman@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

