Skip to content

A Lovely Eve

August 15, 2011
tags:

Normally Monday is my day off from running because I like to give my legs a break after Sunday’s long run. But yesterday’s measly 10 miles left me feeling good today, and I have a commitment later in the week that will prevent me from running on Wednesday, so I laced up my shoes and headed out.

I planned to do 5 easy miles and ended up doing about 5.5 at a decent pace of 8:45/minute, at least it felt easy. This easy stuff is really hard. The tendency to max myself out manifests itself in pretty much every aspect of my life, I like to push myself and take a lot on at one time. This usually works to my benefit because I can achieve a lot, but burn out is always a possibility. I’d like to think that because my legs felt good it meant that I could skip the rest day, we will see tomorrow 🙂

Here’s a snapshot of my view after I returned home from my run.

What are your takes on rest days? Are they totally necessary, or can you go by how your body feels?

Aloha and good night!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2011 1:56 pm

    It was a beautiful sunset last night.

    I don’t have rest days per se, as I like to do something active every day, but running is something I do like to let my body rest from twice a week.

    • August 16, 2011 3:16 pm

      I am the same way, on my days off from running I still do something active, but lately I have found myself wanting to put on my running shoes day after day.

Leave a Reply

