Skip to content

LD Sunday

August 14, 2011

Welcome to another installment of Long Distance Sunday.

10.41 miles in 1:31:35, with an average pace of 8:47 minutes per mile.

It was a beautiful morning and a wonderful run. I got the pacing right and felt strong the entire time, so I will shoot to average about 8:45-8:50 min./mile for now.

I drank an Emergen-C at about mile 5, and had 3 water stops throughout the run. I felt energized and well hydrated.

And now I am drinking a smoothie 🙂 !

Something of interest did happen on my run, I took a little spill. I will be the first person to admit that I am innately clumsy, I seem to lack true grace. I have learned to live with this fact, and have adapted well to my situation. I have realized that there are some things that I should avoid doing.

1) Don’t pour wine for guests.

2) Don’t take big pans out of the oven.

3) Don’t leave liquids open on the counter.

4) Don’t leave any glass objects in arm’s reach.

While I have learned to avoid doing some potentially dangerous tasks, I have also learned how to react when my clumsiness prevails. Case in point, tripping on the sidewalk.

This morning I was chugging along on my run, only about 3 miles in, when I tripped on a metal plate in the sidewalk. What do you do when you find yourself going headlong into the concrete? From learned experience (read: flying face first into the sidewalk) I have perfected a method of avoiding most circumstantial pain.

1) Do not keep your body oriented forwards! This will be sure to put your hands and knees in harm’s way.

2) Turn your body sideways, so that your hips and shoulders make contact with the concrete. Your fleshy butt and arm are much better poised to take the impact of a fall than your knobby knees and sensitive hands.

3) After you hit on the side of your body, roll over to your back and sit on your bottom.

4) Survey the damage, your knees and hands should be fine, you may have scrapes on the sides of your arms and hip, but these are not as important.

5) Get up, full of pride and self confidence, walk for a few steps, then start running again!

I was so glad not to have banged up my knees. The first thought that went through my head was, “Oh no, I’m only 3 miles in, I really do not want to have to turn back now!” I was relieved to see that I just had a scrape on the side of my forearm and could continue on.

Leave a Reply

