Skip to content

Take It Easy

August 13, 2011
tags: ,

Saturday love to you all. Today was my easy run day, I ran a smooth 4 miles this morning sans Garmin, time and pace were of no importance . It did feel nice, but honestly it’s hard to hold back. I am going to try to be more aware of keeping it slow on my easy run days. An article in Runner’s World brought to my attention how important it is to give your body a break, “Consciously or not, many runners push too hard on easy runs and miss out on their varied benefits- like time to heal.” The article suggests that 70% of your weekly mileage should be easy miles, and while I may disagree with that total, I get the message that I can’t push my body to the limits on each and every run.

Each week I incorporate one fartlek, one tempo, one hill, one long, and one or two easy runs. I need to strive to really keep my pace slower on my easy runs so that I don’t burn out.

In other news, Tim, Griffan, and I went to the beach today in Kailua. It was a super nice day, partly cloudy, which kept the temperaturd cooler.

Clouds or no clouds, we needed some sun protection, so we posted up beneath our beloved shade tree.

We played frisbee with Griffan, napped, swam, and ate lunch.

All in all it was a really nice day, and now there is banana bread in the oven! Recipe coming soon!

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 15, 2011 9:37 pm

    Love the picture of Griff and I, Kickin it in the shade under the tree.

Leave a Reply

