Skip to content

Let’s Do Lunch

August 10, 2011

I have been making some pretty amazing lunch salads, so I thought I would share one with you.

This salad is made out of red leaf lettuce, kale, carrots, zucchini, sweet mini peppers, beets, sweet potatoes and garbanzo beans. I change up the dressing each day, but I really like using balsamic vinaigrette and a little honey.

I started making salads for lunch in an attempt to lighten up my food intake. Instead of eating a carb happy sandwich, I omit any grains and get my carbohydrates from light and fresh veggies. If you are having a lunch for your main course, it needs to be big to fill you up, hence the gigantic size of my salad. I also like throwing in some cooked sweet potato because I find it to be a good filler in an otherwise airy dish. Another must is a protein, I switch it up between quinoa, tuna, tofu, and beans.

Here is a go-to way to whip up a skinny lunch:

1) Cut LOTS of lettuce in thin strips, mix types of lettuce, kale, and spinach for variety.

2) Add watery veggies- carrots, cucumbers, tomatoes, zucchini, bell peppers, etc.

3) Add a heartier veggie- like sweet potato and beets.

4) Add a protein- beans, tofu, quinoa, egg, tuna, salmon, sardines, etc.

5) Drizzle in balsamic or a low-calorie, low-fat dressing.

6) Pair with a piece of fruit, like an apple or peach.

Follow these steps and you will have a nutritious and filling lunch for half the calories of other standard lunch fair.


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

