Skip to content

Running in Circles

August 9, 2011
tags:

Mondays are my days off from running, so today I was itching to get out there. I was so pumped about my run that I decided I would do some speed work at the track (gasp!). There’s a really nice private school about 1.5 miles from my house, so it was a perfect warm up and cool down distance to run there, do some quick laps, and run back.

I don’t know why, but I imagined having an empty track all to myself. The school is tucked away off of a main road, and the track, which surrounds a football field is really secluded. I was under the impression that private schools have not gone back to school yet, so assumed there would be no one there.

So I run there, eager as a beaver, and when I arrive I see a football practice going on. There are like 100 high schoolers on the field and half as many parents watching from the bleachers. The dads scattered all around are some big braddahs, like in the picture to the right (source).

I ran all the way there, so I thought I would run a few laps at least and try to block out the multitudes of people around me. This worked for about 1 mile, then I bailed. I was hoping for serenity as I was busting my own a**, but alas that would not happen.

I ended up running about 6 miles in total (my garmin died the the midst), doing random bursts of speed on the road, so my goal was accomplished.

What do you do to overcome embarrassing situations?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

