Skip to content

PRD- day

August 7, 2011

Today I set a personal record for running distance- 12 miles!

12 miles in 1 hour and 45 minutes, with an average pace of 8:47 minutes per mile. I changed the display after my run was over to display my average pace, but did not have it displayed during the run- only my immediate pace. I aimed to keep my pace between 8:45 and 9:00 so that I wouldn’t burn myself out, and it worked! I felt great during the whole run and finished with a respectable time. It was challenging to slow myself down, I kept wanting to go faster, but it paid off in the long run… get it, long run?

There were 4 water stops along the way. I drank an Emergen-C around mile 5. I also tried something new today, I brought a little packet of honey. I have read that honey has similar energizing effects as sport gels and gu’s. I ate the honey around mile 8 to give me a boost for the last part of my run and I’d like to think it worked, I finished really strong and feeling good. I ran by the University of Hawaii around mile 9 and got a wonderful treat in the form of cold water to power me through the end.

Now I am drinking an amazing smoothie with cinnamon in it. This is the first time I have ever put cinnamon in a smoothie and I am kicking myself for not trying it sooner, it really adds an amazing flavor and good health benefits. Cinnamon is an anti-inflammatory, so drinking/eating it after a long run will help my stressed out muscles and ligaments.

If you would have asked me to run 12 miles 4 months ago I would have scoffed at you and told you you were crazy. It is amazing what you can do if you set your mind to it, so set a goal and make it happen, you just might surprise yourself!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

