Skip to content

A Cool Solution

August 2, 2011
tags:

Remember my super awesome banana conundrum from yesterday? Well, I had an epiphany. I remembered a recipe I read a while ago from Ashley at (never home)maker that used frozen bananas as a base for vegan “ice cream”. I checked out the recipe and deemed it a must for desert.

Ingredients:

– 2 frozen bananas, quartered

– 1 tablespoon peanut butter

– a splash of soy milk

– 1 packet of stevia

That’s all folks! You really could make this with just banana, but I liked adding the soy to ease food processing and make it a little creamier and the stevia to sweeten it a little more- it is supposed to be “icecream”. I don’t think adding the peanut butter needs any explanation 🙂

Throw it all in a food processor and work it until it reaches creamy perfection.

The beauty with this is you could really customize it based on whatever ingredients you prefer or have on hand.

Some possible add-ins: coconut flakes, chocolate chips, almond butter, other fruits like papaya, mango, or blueberries, lime juice, pineapple juice, etc.

This tastes really really amazing, I could not do enough to encourage you to make this! Never again will I worry about what to do with large quantities of bananas.

Never again will I wonder what to eat to satisfy my sweet tooth or worry about how that sweet item will add unwanted calories to my consumption- wonder and worry have been dispelled by this delicious “ice cream”.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Joan Thompson permalink
    August 2, 2011 8:39 pm

    Wow, I will try that! Seems like i usually get bananas by the dozens or none at all! And I too have plenty of frozen bananas for my smoothies…. You are amazing Steph!

  2. Smore permalink
    August 3, 2011 6:43 am

    Oh I love banana soft serve! The peanut butter is a great addition too. Looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

