Skip to content

Old Lady Hips

July 29, 2011

Usually I do yoga in the privacy of my home. I tend toward strength building moves like the warrior series, chair, and triangle- or balance poses like balancing stick or dancer’s pose. I usually avoid at all costs hip opening poses because I suck at them, my hips are as tight as cement (I like to blame it on all of the running).

I was in for a rude awakening today when I attended a class at Yoga Hawaii, it was an ashtanga class that had some familiar series I love, like sun salutation and warrior, but it also included a lot of poses that pointed out my old lady hips. Why, when simply resting in child’s pose the instructor said, “Can your buttocks touch your heels?”. I shot her a look like, “yeah right!”, and she said, “At your age you should not be that tight, oh my gosh!”. She was a gracious woman, and successfully modified the poses for me that gave my tight hips trouble, but the point was made- I really really need to work on the flexibility in my hips.

After class the instructor took the time to speak with me about my troubles. She was an avid triathlete, and also experienced the tightness that a runner like me has. She said that it took her 5 years after she stopped racing to really open her body (and her hips) back up. This seemed daunting, but she assured me that I could improve with 10-15 minutes of stretching a day. The wonderful teacher that she was, she sent me away with “homework”.

Here are two poses I learned to help open up your loins:

1)

  • Cross one of your legs over a straight leg, right above the knee.
  • Bend the leg you are balancing on and lean back, like you are sitting in a chair.
  • Rest your arms on your crossed leg, here you can also apply     pressure on the the leg with your arms, deepening the stretch.
  • Hold for 30 seconds, release, and switch legs.

2)

  • Sit in a half lotus position, with one leg folded on top of the other leg.
  • Keeping your back straight, lean forward.
  • As you settle into the pose, lean forward more, but be sure to keep your back very straight the entire time.
  • Hold for 30 seconds and switch legs.

I will do both of these poses every day from now on to get my posterior in gear.

One Comment leave one →
  1. July 30, 2011 10:40 am

    Old Lady Hips? I don’t know about that. I like how focused you look in the second pose. Do you know the name of these poses?

Leave a Reply

